Gregory S. Bentsen Wins 2009 Physics Honors Prize

September 23, 2009

Bentsen receives his award from Prof. WolfsThe Department of Physics congratulates Gregory S. Bentsen, the 2009 recipient of the Physics Honors Prize, which is awarded annually to the top-performing undergraduate in the freshman/sophomore Honors Physics sequence. In consultation with the Chair of Undergraduate Awards Committee, Gregory's instructors in PHY 141, 142, 143, and 237 selected him for the honor, which includes a copy of The Feynman Lectures in Physics volumes, a paid membership in the AAPT, and a subscription to Physics Today.

A member of the Class of 2011, Gregory is earning a BS in Physics, a BS in ECE, and a Minor in Mathematics. He earned the 2008 Phi Beta Kappa Iota Book Award for freshmen. Under the supervision of Professor Frank Wolfs, he completed a research project, "Trigger Map for Lux," by Spring 2009. Gregory is a member of the Society of Physics Students.

Irving and Jane Bentsen at the ceremonyGregory's grandparents, Irving Bentsen and Jane Bentsen, attended the September 16th ceremony. In 1956, Irving Bentsen received his Master of Arts degree in Mathematics from the University of Rochester Department of Mathematics.

(left: Gregory receives his award from Professor Frank Wolfs, Physics Undergraduate Advisor; right , Irving and Jane Bentsen at the ceremony)