Prof. Tang receives the 2011 Wolf Prize

May 29, 2011

On May 29, 2011, Professor Tang, the Doris Johns Cherry Professor of Chemical Engineering and Professor of Physics and Astronomy and of Chemistry, received the 2011 Wolf Prize in Chemistry from the President of the state of Israel in a ceremony at the Knesset in Jerusalem. The prize was awarded "for deep creative contributions to the chemical sciences in the field of synthesis, properties and an understanding of organic materials." Prof. Tang was one of the three reciepients of the 2011 Wolf Prize in Chemistry.

Continue Reading

Scott Barenfeld receives Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship

May 17, 2011

Scott BarenfieldRochester junior Scott Barenfeld '12 (B.S. Physics & Astronomy and minor in Mathematics) has been selected as a 2011-12 Barry M. Goldwater Scholar. He is one of 275 Scholars chosen from an applicant pool of nearly 1100 undergraduate math, science, and engineering majors nominated by colleges and universities nationwide. The Goldwater scholarship provides a maximum of $7,500 for educational expenses. Selection factors include a stellar academic record, demonstrated passion and talent for scientific research, and commitment to pursuing an advanced degree in math, science, or engineering and engaging in a research-oriented career. The application requires candidates to write a two-page essay on a scientific problem on which they have done significant independent research or on a research problem of particular interest to them.

Continue Reading

Aran Garcia-Bellido wins Department of Energy's Early Career Research Award

May 10, 2011

Prof. Garcia-BelliidoAssistant professor Aran Garcia-Bellido has been selected for this year Department of Energy's Early Career Research Award. The selection of this prestigious award by the Department of Energy is based on peer review by outside scientific experts. A total of 65 scientists from a pool of 1,150 university- and national laboratory-based applicants received this award this year. The program provides funds to young professors to develop the proposed research during five years.

Continue Reading

Graduate Student receives Ovshinsky Student Travel Award

March 30, 2011

IrfanGraduate Student Irfan, who is working on his Ph.D. in condensed matter physics under the supervision of Prof. Gao, is the recipient of one of the APS Division of Materials Physics Ovshinsky Student Travel Awards. This provides a travel stipend for the student to attend the APS Division of Materials Physics March 2011 meeting and present their research. Irfan received his award at a reception on March 22nd at the meeting in Dallas, Texas. Irfan joins 9 other students across the nation in receiving this award.

Continue Reading